Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: eloher ( )
Date: September 18, 2010 01:15PM

It never came up when I was a member, so I have no experience with the attitudes or policies regarding transgendered individuals.

I'm asking because my husband has recently come to the conclusion that he should be a she. It's not actually too much of a surprise. He always was different from other men, never had guy friends. I'm more of a tomboy than him even. Lol! I enjoy the great outdoors, camping, sports, landscaping, woodworking, always did the home repairs, etc. None of that ever interested him.

I've had awhile to get used to the idea and am comfortable enough to talk about it in a safe place, where family members wouldn't find out. He's been going through childhood memories, and now recalls that he basically lived like a girl when at home, until he was about 6. He had a dress-up trunk and always wore dresses and wigs, and even had a girl's name he gave himself. At about 6, his parents took away his dress-up stuff that was girly, took away his dolls or any girly toys, and started making him play with other boys. He'd always preferred playing with girls. I've seen some home videos of him as a kid, and he was very effeminate, acting a lot like our own daughter.