Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: olive ( )
Date: October 10, 2010 03:47PM

Last week my TBM MIL announced her engagement to a guy in his 70's. She's nearing her 50's but she still has 2 kids at home, a 17 year old (will be 18 next month) and a 15 year old. The 17 year old is my SIL and will be graduating a semester early from high school in December. She's been accepted to the university here that I graduated from which is about 25 minutes away.

My MIL is planning on getting married this December. I don't know what the rush is but that's what she's said. My SIL is itching to get out of the house. The 2 of them (MIL and SIL) do not have a great relationship. It's been a struggle for my MIL to get SIL to go to church. SIL has told me that she doesn't like it, doesn't like the people, the culture, etc. MIL keeps forcing the issue with her, not giving her a choice about going even though most people would think she is old enough to decide if she wants to go or not. This struggle has affected SIL a lot and has caused her to rebel a bit. A bit of drinking and smoking pot but apparently she's over it now. She doesn't date and has professed to everyone that she doesn't want to get married at 19 (like both of her older sisters) but wants to wait until she's older. I think the age she's settled on now is 28.

I'm not a mormon but was ALMOST baptized. Since I found out what it's really all about I have nothing to do with that church. My husband hasn't attended at all since we've been married which has been 4 years. We also have a soon to be 16 month old.

She has asked us if she can move in with us when she graduates. We have a spare 3rd bedroom and a bonus room in the basement so she could have either space. I am worried about the whole church issue though.