Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: holygourd ( )
Date: February 06, 2012 05:23PM

I am in my late 20's. I was raised in the church, rebelled as a teenager, and came back to serve a mission when I was 19. I threw myself willingly into the bubble and suspended all my disbelief. (Pretty easy to do in the mission environment). I came back home and kept it up, marrying a very faithful churchgoing girl a couple years later in the temple.

Two years into my relationship, the doubts that I had been sweeping under the rug for so many years started to get to me. I began doing some research, talking to friends/family about it, etc. After months of this and more than a few eye-opening epiphanies, I finally came to the conclusion that the church WASN'T all it was cracked up to be. I gradually stopped going to church, stopped wearing garments, and started enjoying the occasional libation with friends. I kept my wife informed about everything I was going through from square one, but she was definitely not happy about it.

The first year after my official "break" was pure hell, as the two of us tried to figure out what to do. After a lot of long conversations, we decided that we cared enough about each other to try to work it out. Ever since then we've been in this weird state of limbo. We get along fine on the day-to-day level, but there's always this giant elephant in the room that wakes up whenever we talk religion or when I want to go have a drink with friends...

And the biggest issue for us now is children - she still really wants a kid, and I'm not even sure I want one at ALL, especially in our rather unstable situation.