Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: cal ( )
Date: April 16, 2012 01:55AM

Yeah, as the subject says. I graduated with a degree in Biology, so I know something of genetics, but I haven't actually seen the DVD or heard the presenter, so I'm wondering if anyone has and thoughts on it?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: SL Cabbie ( )
Date: April 16, 2012 05:26AM

There are enough of us here--you're invited, anytime, cal--who also "know something of genetics," and what has been offered so far has been from FAIR with some quotations by Keith Crandall and some others. We'd be happy to review anything "new," but my guess is it's same old "X-haplogroup of mtDNA" they're trying to hang their sermon on.

Simon Southerton (who knows more than a bit about genetics) has quizzed a few people about such claims, and they can't backtrack fast enough.

Posted by: hello ( )
Date: April 16, 2012 05:34AM

There have been threads here about Rod Meldrum's DVD's about a north American location for the Nephite civilization.

I believe he has also promoted the assertions of a fake wannabee Cherokee man (who is NOT a real Cherokee), who claims that there are members of his group (which is hoping to be declared a legit Cherokee tribe) who have Israelite DNA. Meldrum claims this proves an Israelite origin for all Native Americans, thus substantiating the BOM!!!

But so far, they present no evidence that any native American or wannabee has any pre-Columbian Hebrew DNA admixture. Your EQ guy is thinking wishfully, with a ton of confirmation bias. You may want to ask him to show his "evidence".

If this is not the DNA evidence he is referring too, then I would be even more interested to see his evidence.

Posted by: Jesus Smith ( )
Date: April 16, 2012 08:32AM