Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: brothergalileo ( )
Date: November 08, 2012 10:11PM

Hi, I was raised a mormon, was a letter of the law mormon, did the whole two years mission thing and all that jazz. I am studying physics right now at a non-mormon university. After my mission I went to church for a while and then stopped.My doubts have been growing slightly over the years but recently had the 'pull the rug from underneath me' moment. The whole pray to know doctrine would prove the church is true but its a sketchy. How can you know truth from an emotional subjective experience? Especially when all other churches argue the same point. It doesnt seem consistent or repeatable. I am logically an exmormon but still emotionally mormon. Its liberating and hard to come to terms with at the same time, I wanted to believe its true, the afterlife, the doing good to your fellowman, the promised blessings. Its hard for me to accept how all my friends, family, and good mormon people could be so wrong (and they really believe this stuff). Now I'm just trying to make sense of all this. Also I do have two questions that I couldn't explain, how could joseph smith could know about the civil war and word of wisdom?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: grubbygert ( )
Date: November 08, 2012 10:27PM

civil war: that'd be like me, today, issuing a 'prophetic statement' that there will be unrest/war soon in the middle east

just because the civil war hadn't started yet didn't mean it wasn't obvious that something was going to happen...

word of wisdom: google "temperance movement" - joe never had an original idea... ever

Posted by: ishmael ( )
Date: November 09, 2012 08:49AM