Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: rallychild ( )
Date: March 13, 2011 10:36PM

Had a pretty nasty argument with my ultra TBM mother tonight and it made me sad to see how brain washed my mom really is. I was home this weekend, it was spring break last week, so I was getting ready to go back up to school when I asked my mom if I could borrow some money for groceries when I got back up to school. I am just a young college student, I have been trying my best to find a job, but I am having no luck. She said no, because she truly and firmly believes, without a doubt, that the reason I can't get a job, is because I don't go to church anymore and living my life without the "gospel". She basically knows I will never serve a mission and she is starting to figure out that I really have no intention of ever getting back into the church because I don't believe it. I can't convince her, I will never convince her, but it just made me sad and sick and really hurt my feelings that she won't talk to me like a normal human being, trying to figure out life's problems without dragging the f***ing church into it. I am getting good grades, I try and be a good person, I am really trying to get a job and start a good life for myself, but my mom just criticizes me and makes me feel like shit. She even said my life is becoming a failure and that I am now on a "wrong path". And that doesn't help, because I have pretty bad anxiety and little bit of depression as it is, so saying my life is a failure because i don't believe in the church really, really hurt my feelings. I am not good with confrontations, and I don't handle arguments well, so I just sit back and listen to her bitch and whine about how i'm a failure and that i'll never live a good life without the gospel. I just had to vent.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: dane ( )
Date: March 13, 2011 10:50PM