Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: irishrose ( )
Date: February 17, 2016 05:06PM

As some of you may remember, I wrote my first post out of the extreme frustration I felt after I received some bishop's response to my notice of resignation. Although a few people did not share the loathing I felt from the bishop's high handed response, I was greatly buoyed by the love and support I felt from the feelings shared in response to my post. As a Mormon woman, I have been on the receiving end of so much condescension that I have no truck with that particular mindfu**. For example, I remember when I was applying to law school, I had to deal with the Y again. When I graduated from the Y I received absolutely zero in the way of career counseling or encouragement for grad school. So a few years after graduation, I took the LSAT with the idea that I would fail wildly and put that old dream out of my head. As usual, my plan did not work; I scored in the 98th percentile. At that point, I had law schools asking me to apply. So I did. I asked the head of my department, a prof from whom I had taken many courses, to write a letter of recommendation; he graciously agreed. But he just had to be a bit of a Mormon jerk in the process. The patriarch in him couldn't write a straight forward statement as to whether I had the mental heft for grad school. No. In the formal recommendation, he wrote that aside from my calling of being a wife and a mother, I would make a fine attorney. And then in his cover letter to me, he had to question why I would want to attend a Jesuit law school rather than coming back to the Y. This same man knew I graduated in under three years because I hated BYU so much.