Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: jolene ( )
Date: October 16, 2010 12:12PM

Just like back in the good ol' MTC, I had a change to brush up on my BRT... er... manipulation... er sales presentation skills to a TBM.

I am pretty new in my process of leaving the church. I have just begun studying factual church history and it is making me pretty angry. Mostly just angry about being lied to and not encouraged to read any of this stuff during my 25+ years as a TBM. Lately, I have been wanting to grab some TBM by the collar and shake them - ask them to wake up and stop being to close-minded. Last night I was on Facebook and received an invite to a BPK event - just a page encouraging people to write letter in support of his statements instead of against them. A lot of hurtful things were being said on the board and just a lot of thoughtless parroting. I jumped on and had this conversation with a total stranger. I am just starting to learn how to talk to TBM's without backing down and just "not discussing religion", but actually engage them and get them to think a little without fighting. I have done this once in person and it was very hard to control my emotions. I did better online as I had a chance to sit and process my feelings before typing. I guess this might be called "trolling", not sure. I was sincere in my comments and I didn't really try to provoke anger. It was very healthy for me and a good part of this process. Here's the convo:

Me: as a former Mormon who still has great relationships with all of my non-Mormon and Mormon friends, served an LDS mission, and was married in the temple, I think it is important for members to know the truth.