Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: jlf49 ( )
Date: January 25, 2018 11:52PM

I'm in a really vicious health cycle. I have severe depression, so it's hard to have the motivation or energy to deal with my chronic health condition, which already makes me tired and sick enough.But, I could really help my condition if I exercised, ate right, and got more sleep, but I'm always depressed, so the last thing i want to do is go the grocery store, fix meals, or exercise.

I don't know what to do. It's so frustrating. I don't have any willpower.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: scmd not logged in ( )
Date: January 26, 2018 12:05AM

I'm far from an expert in this field. My best guess that you are already under the care of a primary health provider. If such is not the case, it would be an excellent start. You also would presumably benefit from a counselor or therapist of some sort. They're not all created equally, so find one that is a good fit for you, which can be daunting when your energy level is already low, I acknowledge. Also, if you could think of just one thing in life that might give you pleasure, however simple or complex (driving to a river thirty miles from your home and watching the water fowl, or eating once or twice a month a restaurant you enjoy that is within your budget, for example), do it as often as is practical for you. This might be a start in the right direction.

I wish I could sy or do more to help.

Posted by: spiritist ( )
Date: January 26, 2018 10:29AM

scmd not logged in Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I'm far from an expert in this field. My best
> guess that you are already under the care of a
> primary health provider. If such is not the case,
> it would be an excellent start. You also would
> presumably benefit from a counselor or therapist
> of some sort. They're not all created equally, so