Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: anybody ( )
Date: January 27, 2018 01:26AM

What was so great about living in a male dominated, racist society controlled by religion? Gas was cheap but paychecks were low. Might have been great for people who grew up in the Depression and lived through the war but not compared to now.

At least they made some good science fiction films back then.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/27/2018 01:28AM by anybody.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Dave the Atheist ( )
Date: January 27, 2018 01:44AM

I have no knowledge of boomers wanting to recreate the 50s. I guess I live a sheltered life.

Posted by: Topper ( )
Date: January 27, 2018 03:20AM

You're on the wrong BB if you want to complain about boomers. We dominate here.

As for our wanting to recreate the 50's, you are making assumptions.

Speaking for myself, I have enough to do just to keep up with the waves of new innovations in this era.

Let's sound out for the plusses of our cohort. I'll start.
A very large percentage of us are highly educated.

Posted by: munchybotazv2 ( )
Date: January 27, 2018 03:40AM

being born near the end of the generational boundary, but I have a lot of nostalgia for the sixties, seventies, eighties, and even the nineties. Given a do-over, I'd go back and take everyone with me, if that was a condition.

Hey, maybe I really am a boomer. lol

Posted by: Holly Boomer ( )
Date: January 27, 2018 03:49AM

I'm confused. WTH are you talking about?

Posted by: angela ( )
Date: January 27, 2018 04:06AM

Wha?????

People are throwing out the smartphones? Is the internet dead?

Not sure where you came up with that lame-brain idea, to be honest.

Posted by: ANON 3 ( )
Date: January 27, 2018 04:35AM

Well, there was also motorcycles and really fast cars and Italy and NYC. Film noir. Scandal.