Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Brain Steamer ( )
Date: May 22, 2018 04:14PM

Having read through quite a few threads, I wanted to get some thoughts down on paper to share. I want to provide some input into how to break the cycle from Catholic to Mormonism to atheism.

I think a little history of myself is important to the discussion. My parents were converts and I was born into the church. I’ve lived in various states-including Illinois, Wyoming, Georgia, California and Nevada. I went on a mission to Brazil for two years (and still have fond memories). I joined the Army as a military intelligence language analyst. I’m currently living in Utah with my wife and three kids. I have a BS degree from a state university in Geology.

Personal apostasy:
I was on the straight and narrow my whole life, and relatively enjoyed the church most of the time. I enjoyed a healthy lifestyle and was generally happy. I was at the university computer lab one day and getting ready for a Sunday lesson, when google returned the website: http://www.wivesofjosephsmith.org.

Curious by nature, I went to the website and my mind was blown. ‘This can’t be real?’, ‘Surely this is anti-mormon propaganda.’. I remember back on my mission asking my mission president, ‘Why don’t we ever hear about Joseph Smith’s (JS) plural wives?’-to which he responded, ‘people get excommunicated for asking too many questions about JS’s wives.’ That really never settled well, but being the good mormon boy-I had tried to stay obedient.