Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: newmo ( )
Date: February 11, 2019 05:38PM

I've been a business owner outside of Utah for over 15 years and just recently located here for my wife's job. I realize that professional services, regardless of where you are, can be great or terrible and you have to do your homework, but this in the 6th state I've lived in during those 15 years and have NEVER experienced the level of apathy that I've experienced here. Some examples:

- VERY bad accounting advice (borderline negligent)
- Doctor trying to prescribe me a drug I'm allergic to
- Investment firms not getting back to me (despite having plenty to invest)
- Lawyers being flippant towards serious inquiries

Again, this can happen anywhere, but this happens almost 100% of the time, and upon further investigation the person I'm dealing with is always LDS...and knows that I am not.

Having read numerous threads on here I realize that discrimination and fraud is rampant here in Utah, and I've come to realize that the state is not "pro business" but rather pro LDS-owned business.

With that in mind, I wanted to pick people's brains to see if you know any ways to find above-board accountants, lawyers, wealth managers, etc. that work with small/medium businesses and either aren't LDS or couldn't care less whether I am. Or, just your advice in general. I realize I could hire these outside of Utah but we plan on staying for a while and I'd like someone local and trustworthy that knows local laws and regulations.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Amyjo ( )
Date: February 11, 2019 06:36PM