Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: theBlackSheep ( )
Date: June 18, 2017 04:23PM

Hello. This is my first time posting to this board. I will start by saying that I am not a Mormon, never been Mormon. I was raised Baptist/Evangelical. I also have some family members that are Assemblies of God. I don't know if there is a similar support forum for former Evangelicals - but I feel kinship with the experience of former Mormons, so if it's OK, I will post here. I feel like our experiences may have much in common.

I really never bought into it ... the religion. I suppose I have ALWAYS been the Black Sheep. My father is an Evangelical pastor of a smallish/medium sized church, very strict, "fundamentalist." He's a church-comes-first kind of guy. I know he loves me, but he sees me as the project kid, the Black Sheep, the prodigal.

I'm not really much of a prodigal ... I have a stable career, I don't have any substance abuse issues, my life is fairly successful - but I am not church-attending, and I don't believe in a literal seven day creation.

I also have fairly liberal beliefs - like for example, I support same-sex marriage rights. I am definitely not "on fire" for the Lord. I'm pretty much "lukewarm" and I'm happy that way. I profess Christ, but I try not to think about it too much because if I do ... I might question it.

My cognitive dissonance began pretty young ... I remember specifically seeing church literature about "Winning your Catholic family to Christ." Well, my grandparents on my mom's side were Catholic. I was told that because of the extra books in the Catholic Bible, this means they were adding to the Word of God. And that meant they were not true Christians. And also they prayed to Mary. Therefore, my maternal grandparents were going to burn in the eternal fire of Hell.

I wasn't ok with that.