Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Amyjo ( )
Date: September 10, 2017 10:44AM

Doorbell chimes. There were two Jehovah Witnesses on my doorstep holding a bible and a JW flyer.

I point to the "No soliciting" sign on my door that is conspicuous as can be. They say "We're not selling anything." I tell them "Yes you are. I have my religion, and am not interested."

They turned and walked away.

Note, they're tracting on a Sunday. Aren't they supposed to be in church?

Bad, bad, bad.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Davie ( )
Date: September 10, 2017 11:06AM

They are certainly selling something.

To sell (religious) ideas is to sell.

I was a salesman (as a Mormon missionary) and I promised never to sell anything again.

Posted by: Becca ( )
Date: September 10, 2017 11:09AM

That kind of behaviour pisses me off no end.

I am known to just slam the door in people's faces when they have the nerve to ring my doorbell inspite of the very well visible sticker.

It's right beneath the bell. You can't miss it for crying out loud! and it says (roughly translated from Dutch) :

No salesmen, no religion, no charity(s)

Clear enough you'd think?
If I want to buy something from you, I'll find you. If I want to donate to your charity, I'll also find you. And as far as religion is concerned.... just fuck off..

It's usually pretty quiet at my door, with the exeption of a hard headed idiot every now and then.

I don't know as JW actually practice sunday rest by the way..

Posted by: Cheryl ( )
Date: September 10, 2017 11:11AM

They also often ask for donations if anyone takes one of their Watchtower pamphlets.

Posted by: badassadam ( )
Date: September 10, 2017 11:12AM

Oh man i just put up a no soliciting sign maybe i should add a no proselytizing sign as well.

Posted by: desertman ( )
Date: September 10, 2017 11:27AM

A good door poster would be this