Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: nuuvox ( )
Date: November 12, 2017 01:25AM

Hey peeps, nice to meet you all, this seems like a nice forum. I'm just beginning my exit from religion and the mormon church (although not a soul yet knows besides me and now you guys).

Little about me: born in the covenant, had a wonderful experience in the church for the most part. 28 years old now, married, kid on the way. Served a mission in Brazil. Finished my engineering degree last year.

Started to not believe so strongly in the church teachings (or God) at the beginning of the year and it's been a slippery slope down the rabbit hole.

My problem: I would have left easily by now but my wife is still a believer. We are still madly in love (4 years married) and I have no doubt that her love for me will stay the same even after I leave. She's a genuinely good person and not a hardcore Mormon by any means. I really just fear making her sad and worried for me all the time. She would definitely feel guilty and probably somehow blame herself for my leaving. I also don't want her to be going to church by herself every Sunday and being "that wife" whose husband is "inactive."

Has anyone had a similar predicament? Church is starting to get VERY boring nowadays lol and I don't know how long I can keep my wife from paying my hard earned paycheck for tithing. Lol, been trying to put it off and change the subject. Thanks in advance!

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: dagny ( )
Date: November 12, 2017 01:53AM

Welcome.

Congratulate yourself for seeing through it all so young.

There have been many here in your situation. Some have had successful lives with a believing spouse. Others have divorced and moved on.

My husband waited 15 years for me to finally catch on. When I finally told him I didn't think the church was true, he said, "What took you so long!"