Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Dave the Atheist ( )
Date: November 23, 2017 03:05PM

It's the U.S. Dialect map again.

http://robertspage.com/dialects.html

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/23/2017 03:09PM by Dave the Atheist.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Tevai ( )
Date: November 23, 2017 05:12PM

I just printed off two copies of the article.

I've paid attention to American dialects almost all of my life (my grandparents, and my parents when they were adolescents, all moved to Southern California...where I was later born, so I grew up with many relatives from different far-flung places who "talked funny" ;) ).

Really good information and insights (including some things I didn't know, including the distant-to-me areas I have had some personal experience with).

Thank you for this, Dave!!!

EDITED TO ADD: My Mom was born and raised (up until her junior year in high school) in Tulsa, Oklahoma---and yet, for all the time I knew her, she spoke exactly, spot-on, Southern California Standard English, which also included the Spanish which is part of Southern California life!!!

Once I began to pay attention to accents and dialects (especially after a particular road trip to Oklahoma, so I could meet my biological grandfather for the first time), I realized that she had been raised from birth to speak in OKLAHOMA-standard English, yet I had never heard her do this...so what was going on???

She told me that when she entered Los Angeles High School (as a junior), she had been embarrassed because of her "Oklahoma accent" (there was at least one teacher, and some students, who had made fun of her, with "Okie" jokes, etc.)---so she took the first opportunity available to learn to speak "Southern California English"...