Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Amyjo ( )
Date: April 06, 2018 06:05PM

Elizabeth has turned her horrific experience into a cash cow.

It's been sixteen years since her abduction and rescue. This is her second book in four years. Plus her talk circuit, she gets paid to do.

It's become a career for her.

Posted by: Tevai ( )
Date: April 06, 2018 11:01PM

I am a writer, and not only do I not see anything wrong in Elizabeth Smart writing another book about her experiences (or in her speaking about her experiences in speeches or television appearances), I think she is doing a positive public good...

...especially since the facts which led to her kidnapping and confinement still exist in Mormon society, and her experiences as a kidnap victim are applicable to Mormons and non-Mormons alike.

I see nothing wrong with her earning money for teaching the public (including a new generation now growing up) about what CAN happen...HOW it can happen...and discussion about what--if it happened again now--would likely be, possibly, better techniques for anyone who might be victimized in this kind of way.

The more practical education which gets to kids growing up, the better for all of us. Kids (of all kinds) ARE kidnapped in the United States, and Elizabeth Smart's words may be the exact words necessary to allow a current kidnap victim to either avoid the kidnapping from the outset, or to escape from captivity.

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 04/06/2018 11:07PM by Tevai.

Posted by: bona dea ( )
Date: April 06, 2018 11:06PM

I think she is doing a lot of good. I read her book and thought she made some good points, although her first book was more compelling.I believe she donate the proceeds of her first book to the Laura Recovery Center. I could benwrong, but I know her parents did.

Posted by: carameldreams ( )