Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: rae0529 ( )
Date: July 10, 2018 04:48PM

Hi, I'm new to all of this. My faith in the BOM and Joseph Smith is now totally gone. I believe Joseph Smith was a Charlatan. Anyways, My husband and I are doing great. He understands where I am coming from and shares many of my doubts. Although he is still holding on to some beliefs for now. What I'm not sure of is how to handle our children. Up to this point our family has been true believers. Our children are 14 and 10. We live in Utah so the church hasn't just been our belief system but it is also our social system. I don't want to rock my kids world just yet. I don't think they would handle it well. Has anyone continued to fake it until your kids were older? I don't want to lie but I'm willing to attend church and pretend in order to spare them from being ostracized during their teen years. To me that is a small sacrifice to make. My thoughts are to wait until they are 18ish to start letting them know I don't agree with the church anymore. Anyone experience this? Thoughts?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Elder Berry ( )
Date: July 10, 2018 05:07PM

rae0529 Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Has anyone
> continued to fake it until your kids were older?
> I don't want to lie but I'm willing to attend
> church and pretend in order to spare them from
> being ostracized during their teen years. To me
> that is a small sacrifice to make.

I didn't. The ostracism is real. I've known a few friends in Utah whose kids faced it. I recommend leaving Utah.

> My thoughts
> are to wait until they are 18ish to start letting
> them know I don't agree with the church anymore.
> Anyone experience this?