Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: TabernacleChoir ( )
Date: December 05, 2018 10:51PM

It’s only a communist organization, where you praise the dear leader, and if you don’t, you are excommunicated

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: TX Rancher ( )
Date: December 05, 2018 11:34PM

LOL there is nothing that says religion should be a democracy. However, your comparison of LDS to a dictatorship is valid...the profit is comparable to a "dear leader" that must be obeyed.

Posted by: Oak's Missing Hair ( )
Date: December 06, 2018 10:56AM

Agreed. It's their organization, they can run it how they want, and we can and did Leave!!

Posted by: Benvolio ( )
Date: December 06, 2018 11:30AM

Your user name rings a bell.
Many, many years ago I was a graduate student at BYU. Oaks was the new president. He was going around the campus being briefed on research projects. He showed up for a review of mine. It was a bit windy outside. The first thing Oaks did when he came inside was to whip out a comb and comb his hair. I don't remember anything else about our interaction. But that part stands out.

Posted by: slskipper ( )
Date: December 05, 2018 11:37PM

Even Communism isn't communist, at least not in actual practice. The Mormon church is an oligarchy, where the rich people get to be in charge.

Posted by: Heartless ( )
Date: December 06, 2018 06:03AM

Their desire for power extends to the secular realm. Their recent push to rewrite legislation mere days after the people voted to have medical marijuana legalized only shows their arrogance and complete lack of respect for others and the democratic process.

Posted by: Amyjo ( )
Date: December 06, 2018 06:37AM

If Utah could have seceded from the nation it would have become its own government. Glad that didn't materialize.

Posted by: m0rtes ( )
Date: December 06, 2018 09:23AM