Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Roy G Biv ( )
Date: December 17, 2018 03:36PM

Stopped into Mike's Drive-In in Oregon City last Friday with my wife for a burger. There were 3 missionaries seated in a booth near us. looked like they had a shake or something and were hanging out looking at their tablets. They looked a bit bored too.

When we were done eating, I went to the counter and bought 3 gift cards for them. I was in the process of getting them when they were leaving so I asked them to wait a minute. They seemed perplexed. While we waited, they asked my name, how the day was going, what I did for work, etc. I told them I'm an engineer and went to BYU, did a mission, etc.

I gave them the gift cards and they thanked me several times. They said they hadn't had lunch so they stayed and ordered as we left. They were genuinely surprised that a stranger did this, and I saw no reason to say anything about the church and my beliefs. I got fed a lot on my mission and now I hear the members are discouraged from doing that. I just wanted them to have a free meal and let them know someone was thinking about them.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: ificouldhietokolob ( )
Date: December 17, 2018 04:16PM

Well done, RGB.
Your kindness was to those kids, not the church sending them out.
I'm sure they appreciated it.

Posted by: messygoop ( )
Date: December 17, 2018 04:17PM

That was very kind of you. I'm glad they appreciated your generosity.

Posted by: Rubicon ( )
Date: December 18, 2018 03:31AM

I just view the missionaries as exploited kids. I was one once. I ran into some in Mexico. Turns out my hotel was in their proselyting area and I told them meet me at the hotel restaurant and I will buy you breakfast. They showed up and really appreciated it because they were living on beans and rice and maybe on Sunday they would get chicken.