Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Tyrrhenia ( )
Date: March 07, 2019 04:26PM

Today, during a quiet minute at work, a memory came through my mind, actually two, and I thought it could be something to share here. As I wrote a few days ago in another thread that I don't know how to link here now, I have been visiting RfM for 14 years, almost 15, but I VERY rarely post something. I feel too shy for that, and this place is too rough sometimes. I don't know...

Anyway, I'll try it and as a starter, I'll tell you these two little episodes in my mormon life.

A long time ago I moved to another country to accept a job at the European branch of an international organization. I had been a member of the church for about four years at that time, I had already been "through" the temple (and this for itself could be the subject of a new thread...), and I came from a small branch. I must admit I already had some items on the shelf, but at that time I still thought it was my fault, or..."I'll handle these items at a later time." I was excited, because I knew that in the new city I would have found a larger ward and be able to experience the church in a proper way.

In my new city the church had three wards. One was close to the place where I was staying, so I thought well to attend that ward.

Many can feel at home immediately moving from a ward to another. Certainly it wasn't my case. My excitement for being at last in a real ward dissipated on the first Sunday, and the following months were very challenging for my feelings about the church as a community.

I admit I am not the most outgoing person, but I think I am usually nice and polite. As a new single woman in the ward I had expected a better welcome.