Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Roy G Biv ( )
Date: September 10, 2019 03:09PM

I work in the medical device industry and today a customer from SLC is auditing us. When he said he was from SCL I knew he was mormon, looked like he should be sitting up on the stand during sacrament meeting.

He went to BYU and finished a year later than me with the same degree. I'm sure we had classes together and we chatted about the teachers we had.

No biggie at this point, but as we went around the table and introduced ourselves, his mormon conditioning kicked in. Most of us on the audit team are married with kids. One guy is married with no kids (by choice) and is in his forties.

After the kid less guy's intro, the auditor mentioned that they get a lot of interns working at his company in SLC and they always remind them to not make their career the only thing in life...don't forget to get married and start your family!

That felt weird, and very mormon!

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: messygoop ( )
Date: September 10, 2019 03:23PM

I went to several universities and mostly had small classes (20-25 student-professor ratio). I consider my collegiate experience to be excellent as I felt most professors to be approachable. I had a basic computer technology course that had 50-60 students and it was taught by a rotating panel of student teachers (I don't think the professor could be bothered to show up).

So I'm asking if most classes at the Y are auditorium style?

If so, that would have been a big disappointment, if not a turnoff for my learning style.

Date: September 10, 2019 03:27PM

I only recall the more general classes in big auditoriums....American Heritage, Biology, Economics, etc. My major classes (engineering) were typically smaller.

Posted by: messygoop ( )
Date: September 10, 2019 03:34PM

Ok, that makes sense.