Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Tevai ( )
Date: November 02, 2019 01:34AM

I don't want to threadjack the other Africa thread.

Because of programming algorithms I have no knowledge of, about a week ago my You Tube menu suddenly began suggesting a number of videos about Ghana--specifically (for the most part), videos about African-American families who have, or are, for different reasons, moving to Ghana (as family groups): for new business opportunities of many different kinds, sometimes for cultural/historical reasons (their ancestors came, as slaves, from Ghana originally), etc.

Some of these are straight documentaries (of fifteen minutes or less) which are, in essence, "this" family's story....some of them are informational videos ("here" is how you do this necessary thing, and here are words of advice about what to bring, and what NOT to bring, from the U.S., and "here" is something you need to be warned about, "here" is how the utilities work, and "here" is info about something you're going to find really strange, such as the long wait times for your food in Ghanaian restaurants), and some of them are background videos on Ghana as a whole, with footage on what look like some VERY nice neighborhoods, so Americans have some idea of what life in Ghana is about. (Some families are moving to Ghana for the kids, so the kids will develop a deep appreciation for the land their ancestors came from.)

The other Africa thread prompted a thought: is there any association between African Americans moving to Ghana, and anything to do with the LDS church? I've never heard any of the identifying words (LDS, Mormon, etc.) on any of these videos, but if the LDS church WANTED to set up an efficient proselytizing effort in Ghana, these American families who are now moving there to create businesses, etc. would be an effective way to begin.