Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: GNPE ( )
Date: January 13, 2020 12:14PM

I think he knew it was a fraud, but had no way to back out of it.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Kathleen ( )
Date: January 13, 2020 12:22PM

He’d have been murdered.

Posted by: messygoop ( )
Date: January 13, 2020 12:35PM

Posted by: Elder Berry ( )
Date: January 13, 2020 12:37PM

Testimonies and egos have a way of enlarging each other.

Posted by: icanseethelight ( )
Date: January 13, 2020 01:07PM

He 100% knew it was a fraud and said as much on national television.

"the people sustain me as such" is doublespeak for I am no prophet and I know it.

Posted by: Done & Done ( )
Date: January 14, 2020 12:34PM

Yes. Hinckley was well practiced in the art of speaking without really saying anything at all. His answer was classic. You can take it any way you want. Fill in your own blanks.

Who with a direct line to God would answer like that? He was no Abinidi, that's for sure.

Date: January 14, 2020 12:37PM

Done & Done Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> He was no Abinidi, that's for sure.

He would not have burned on a stake for his beliefs.

Posted by: Done & Done ( )
Date: January 14, 2020 02:21PM

Oddly . . . Abinidi was no Abinidi either if you know what I mean.

Posted by: Anziano Young ( )
Date: January 14, 2020 06:03PM

Done & Done Wrote:
He was no Abinidi, that's for sure.

You can say that again. I mean, did you see the painting? Abinidi was RIPPED for being 80 million years old. Hinckley couldn't compare, I bet.

Posted by: cludgie ( )
Date: January 13, 2020 01:11PM

The First Presidency are the first to know.

Date: January 13, 2020 01:32PM

Everyone else is on a greed to know basis.

Date: January 13, 2020 01:38PM

I think it began to take hold when his wife died, he saw the light at the end of the tunnel...