Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: gemini ( )
Date: May 10, 2020 04:12PM

Absolutely horrible.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: heartbroken ( )
Date: May 10, 2020 05:08PM

Yikes!

From the article: "I would lie down at night after taking melatonin and Benadryl, soaked in sweat and terrified of what might be coming next. What if I fall asleep and stop breathing? More Benadryl. More melatonin."

Maybe she should stop taking melatonin and Benadryl till the virus passes. It doesn't seem to be helping her symptoms. I'm no expert, but I think it is best to just rest and eat gentle foods and not take any unnecessary supplements or medication.

Melatonin and Benadryl side effects from WebMD:

"Melatonin has been used safely for up to 2 years in some people. However, it can cause some side effects including headache, short-term feelings of depression, daytime sleepiness, dizziness, stomach cramps, and irritability."

Benadryl: "Drowsiness, dizziness, constipation, stomach upset, blurred vision, or dry mouth/nose/throat may occur. If any of these effects persist or worsen, tell your doctor or pharmacist promptly."

She also said she used to be a smoker which could be the reason for her slow recovery. Who knows.

A very sobering and cautionary article. I hope she recovers.

Posted by: summer ( )
Date: May 10, 2020 05:47PM

My guess is that she was taking both to help her sleep (which she may have been short on, due to stress) plus the Benadryl would also help with her allergies.

I took Benadryl at night (for allergies) for a long time. I would take a different, non-drowsy medication during the day. Benadryl is strong stuff and definitely makes you feel sleepy. I considered that a side benefit. The downside is that I would wake up feeling luggy. The dreams you get while on Benadryl are quite colorful and intense!