Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: kdj ( )
Date: June 27, 2020 04:16PM

I'm a musician and because of covid-19, live gigs have stopped. I'm not complaining, because the last thing I want is to perform in a crowded bar or restaurant for 2-3 hours. A couple of weeks ago I was contacted by a couple from California, who were planning a wedding at Redfish Lake. Since it was a dawn wedding with just the couple, the officiant, and the photagraphers, I thought it was a safe bet. Long story short it was one of the most beautiful weddings I have ever attended. With the bride and the groom standing on the beach with the crystalline blue waters of the lake and framed by the snow tipped Sawtooth mountains, it was so moving. I commented to my wife that the Mcmarriages performed in Mormon temples just can't compare or measure up. I thought of all the weddings I attended, when I was a member, and nothing stood out from any of them. Each was carried out in a room that looks like hundreds of others scattered across Mormondom, with an old fossil droning on about kings and queens and prinicpalities, while the couple kneels at an alter in their ridiculous temple garb. What a joke. Of course, the faithful will go to their graves bragging about the beauty of the Mormon marriage ceremony, while the rest of us just laugh and pity the poor souls who squander a great opportunity for beauty on one of the most important days of their lives.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Susan I/S ( )
Date: June 27, 2020 06:16PM

Not just beauty but inclusiveness. LDSInc weddings are as much about who can't be there as who can.

Posted by: summer ( )
Date: June 27, 2020 06:40PM

I always say that it's not a wedding unless a baby is crying. :) You would think that the church that promotes "forever families" would want all members of the family in attendance at a wedding.