Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: knotheadusc ( )
Date: August 06, 2020 01:42PM

If you saw my last post about my musical pandemic project, you know I just started playing guitar in early May. It’s now August, and lately I have been working on my blues chops. I’m still not that good of a player, but I am better than I was a month ago.

My husband and I are taking a road trip starting tomorrow... We are going to Leutasch, Austria for three nights, Partices, Italy for four nights, and Rorschach, Switzerland for two nights. That’s a grand total of nine nights away...

Should I bring my guitar, or will it be a waste of time? Don’t want to lose my calluses!

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: nli ( )
Date: August 06, 2020 02:03PM

A guitar is a big piece of luggage. You probably can't practice in the car, and in a small hotel or B&B you would disturb others.

Leave it home.

Your calluses will come back quick enough.

Date: August 06, 2020 02:09PM

You’re probably right, although we aren’t going to be staying in small hotels.

Posted by: Hedning ( )
Date: August 06, 2020 02:18PM

If you are taking it in your own vehicle and you have room, just make sure you keep it where it does not get overheated in the car and cover it with an old dirty blanket so theives will not be tempted to break into your car. Keep it protected in a gig bag and it's easier to pack. Playing in your room is not any louder than people who listen to tv or electronic devices. You can usually find a quiet spot away from a hotel or B and B to play. I have sat on many a quiet wall or in the woods and also made friends traveling with guitar or banjo or ukulele. Ukes are actually the best to travel with. I have one guitar that has seen a lot of the world.

Date: August 06, 2020 02:23PM