Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: thotchocolate ( )
Date: March 30, 2021 11:27PM

I'm a non-CES college student currently in my hometown who's been inactive for over two and a half years, lacking belief but also lacking the guts to do formally quit. So I've gotten messages from missionaries.

Every time, I just went along with the call or prayer or scripture discussion they wanted to have, trying to just stay positive and not let them down. Until now.

The local sister missionaries messaged me on Facebook asking if I wanted to see an uplifting Easter video that would bring me peace. The old me would've thought, "It's just a nice video," and continued to engage with the Church, but this time, this was my response:

"Hello sister missionaries! Thank you for reaching out to me and wanting to share something uplifting. Truthfully, I fully no longer believe in the Church and would rather not remain in contact with it. Nothing personal - I hope you're doing well on your mission and have a happy Easter soon"

May seem minor, but it feels like a big shift for me. No more doing things I don't want to do and pretending to feel things I don't feel.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: CrispingPin ( )
Date: March 30, 2021 11:32PM

Small steps are still steps in the right direction.

Posted by: outta the cult ( )
Date: March 30, 2021 11:46PM

The second time will be much easier. Soon it will seem routine.

Progress is always a good thing, however and whenever you can get it.

Not resigning doesn't demonstrate lack of guts either. Most exmormons don't bother. It's nothing to be concerned about.

Posted by: elderolddog ( )
Date: March 31, 2021 12:27AM

That’s right, about not formally quitting! By not quitting, you stay mormon, which nowadays pisses them off!

I’m elderolddog, and I’m a mormon!

Yes, well, we no longer use...

I said, I’m a mormon!!