Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: thegoodman ( )
Date: April 02, 2021 07:05PM

So, my father just commissioned me to design and apply a decal to his car. It's a Plain Jane, so, the idea he wanted was like a woodplane, with like Jane Jetson sitting on it. And I am pretty sure he wants me to paint this straight onto the hood.

I'm pretty sure this is something I could do, from the designing and application standpoint. I'm a painter, a cartoonist, and I've done murals before but that was with oil paints.

However, I am not a professional car painter and I have no idea what I would use to paint this thing. Probably not oils? I'm not even sure if this is possible to do with paintbrush and straight onto the metal of the car?

If there is someone who knows cars and knows decorating cars can tell me something about this? I am of the mind to refuse because that's not something I'm trained in and I'm not comfortable just taking what I want to this beautiful old car and making a mess. So, is my father crazy for asking me to do this?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: slskipper ( )
Date: April 02, 2021 07:25PM

Just a first stab: investigate air brushing. And you will likely need a great deal of automotive masking tape. A cartoon character will be a lot easier than a real person or animal.

Date: April 02, 2021 07:49PM

Thank you for the attempt offered.

I don't know how to airbrush paint and it's not something I'm looking to learn about. I'd need an airbrush gun for that, wouldn't I?

I'm more of the paintbrush type of artist, so any aerosol or spray would need several months for me to master in order just to do the project itself. But see, that's why I don't think him asking me will work. The paint layered on the car with the brush strokes, even if he put like the top coat over top, those grooves and raised bits would cause a problem, yeah?