Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: hujo ( )
Date: April 03, 2021 07:18PM

Hey guys, as you know I'm only a sophomore in high school right now, but in a year I'm gonna be applying to colleges.

I do live in Utah (won't say what area) but I have a 3.8ish gpa and I'm probably gonna go to college in state. I'd love to go to college out of state but cost wise it'll be extremely difficult.

I could probably get into BYU and it would be pretty cheap (I believe it's 5k a semester but correct me if I'm wrong).

My parents obviously want me to go to BYU (Provo) and have even suggested that I go to BYU Idaho or Hawaii if I don't get in!

I really don't want to BYU, for obvious reasons but I'll spell them out below.

1. 100% mormon kids who I can't be myself around (or I'll get kicked out)

2. The whole honor code, especially the law of chastity and the drinking

3. Girls will only want to date an RM, and there's no way I'm going on a mission

4. I won't be able to party

5. It'll be just like right now in high school. No freedom.

NOTE* I also am going to be a frat boy so keep that in mind.

I can't say number 1, 2, 3, or 4 around my parents for a reason that I don't want to go to BYU.

They say "The U is so much more expensive, why would you want to go there? BYU's academics are much better."

If there's any good arguments against going to BYU and going to the U, please comment them below.

Thanks!

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: elderolddog ( )
Date: April 03, 2021 07:46PM

I went to both.

I started at the U and pledged Sigma Pi. The chapter house is now an empty lot. It was SOOOOOO much fun that I flunked out and the U asked me to leave.