Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Tyson Dunn ( )
Date: April 12, 2021 08:16PM

I mentioned in another thread that I have a master's degree in engineering, but that isn't what I have a passion for. I love languages.

There's a YouTuber I watch from time to time, Days of French and Swedish, who summed it up well in one of his videos:

"I love languages. I love them so much. I love the easy bits. I love the hard bits. I love etymology—the fact that the Swedish word for 'honeymoon' is literally 'cuddle month', it gives me goosebumps—which by the way is another weird word, 'goosebumps'. Anyway, I love languages so much that learning them is non-negotiable."

That's how I feel. I love everything about languages to the point that I should have been a linguist. And I know, a linguist isn't the same as a polyglot. That's not the relevant point.

When the pandemic is over, I want to get my PhD in linguistics.

What things are you passionate about that you would seriously want to pursue if you get the chance?

Tyson

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Lot's Wife ( )
Date: April 12, 2021 08:25PM

I can totally understand that. Languages as media for culture, as the doorway to philosophy and literature, as human history the same way DNA embodies the past: languages are awesome.

Posted by: Heartless ( )
Date: April 12, 2021 09:26PM

I wanted to design space probes. Just couldn't afford the college.

Posted by: Dave the Atheist ( )
Date: April 12, 2021 10:10PM

I just want to run trains.

Posted by: Heartless ( )
Date: April 12, 2021 11:31PM

It's not my job to run the train
The whistle I don't blow.
I can't decide how far or fast the train will go.

I'm not allowed to blow off steam or even ring the bell.
But let the damn thing jump the track and see who catches hell.

Posted by: Dave the Atheist ( )
Date: April 13, 2021 10:30PM