Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Soft Machine ( )
Date: April 29, 2021 03:56PM

I have an online subscription to The Economist, usually quite a rigorous, thoughtful and thought-provoking magazine. Although well to the right of my own views, it tries to tell things as they are and contains some of the best journalism you'll see anywhere.

I was a bit dismayed therefore to read this one:

https://www.economist.com/united-states/2021/04/29/why-utahs-conservatism-is-better

If it's behind a paywall for you, tell me and I'll post the main parts (it's rather long).

I'd be very interested in your comments, RfMers. I thought it was a shameless plug...

Much love to all

Tom

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Lot's Wife ( )
Date: April 29, 2021 04:02PM

'Tis behind a paywall.

ETA: Greetings, Thomas!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/29/2021 04:03PM by Lot's Wife.

Date: April 29, 2021 04:15PM

"Why Utah’s conservatism is better
The Mormon right has not followed white evangelicals’ descent into grievance politics

One of the few uplifting notes of last year’s election season was struck by the candidates for Utah’s governorship. “Win or lose, in Utah, we work together,” said Christopher Peterson, the Democrat, in a humorous ad featuring him and his Republican opponent. “So let’s show the country that there’s a better way,” said that rival, Spencer Cox.

Now Utah’s governor, Mr Cox seems to be keeping his pledge. The upbeat 45-year-old is winning plaudits for his pragmatism and evenhandedness. After Utah’s Republican legislature demanded an early end to its mask mandate, he negotiated a month-long extension, with exceptions for schools and businesses. He issued his first veto of a bill sponsored by his brother-in-law (it was an attack on social-media firms and probably unconstitutional).