Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: knotheadusc ( )
Date: August 24, 2021 03:12AM

Some of you know that besides singing old showtunes, I'm also a writer, of sorts. Some time ago, I ran across a YouTube channel by an ex Mormon who calls herself Exmo Lex. I used one of her videos in a post I wrote, so I get her videos suggested to me on YouTube.

This morning, I decided to watch one of her most recent videos. It was about how she discovered that her family was calling her a "Jezebel" behind her back, and doing their best to undermine her efforts as a parent, trying to raise her kids outside of Mormonism. She thought things had been going well, but then she discovered that the "niceness" was just a facade. Really, her family thought of her as akin to a woman with no morals.

I'm not LDS, but I could sort of relate to her. My family is religious and conservative, and I haven't felt like I belonged in years. They've never called me a Jezebel, although I do have an uncle who called me a "liberal nutcase" (which I'm not-- I just don't agree with my uncle's politics). I'm sure other stuff has been said, though. I just don't feel like I fit in with my family anymore...

So I could understand Exmo Lex's heartbreak on one level... but not having been LDS, I don't understand the other side of it. I'm sure people here could relate to what she says, though. My heart goes out to her. It feels like such a loss when you see your family members for who they really are, and it turns out who they really are is far from the image they project.

The church does so much to tear up families. It's so sad that Lex's family doesn't see her for the beautiful, intelligent, and obviously thoughtful person she really is. They should be proud of her, instead of calling her names behind her back.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aRdLB_pVUdY