Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Brother Of Jerry ( )
Date: September 06, 2021 01:18PM

To everybody who has ever worked for an hourly wage, and especially everybody in a union, this is your day. Take a bow and hoist a beer. I think Costco can take great pride in the fact that instead of racking up holiday sales, they close for Labor Day and give all their employees a paid holiday.

I grew up in a union family. I have always found it interesting that Mormons are almost all strongly anti-union, all the more unusual because almost none of them have actually been in a union. It's rather like a deeply racist North Dakotan who has never ever actually met a Black person (and such people exist in droves in ND).

Anyhow, a history prof on a website I follow posted a Labor Day quiz. As a retired teacher, I know how hard it is to do good multiple choice questions, This guy is good, and I appreciate expertise. Enjoy

================================

Today is Labor Day. Our best wishes to all who are commemorating the holiday, and in particular to whose who are, or who have been, union members.

As we sometimes do on holidays, both in honor of the occasion, and because news tends to be slow, we've put together a little quiz for you to try your hand at. You could Google most or all of the answers, but where's the fun in that? We'll let you chew on things for a day, and then all will be revealed tomorrow. For now, here are the 12 questions:

1. The first labor union in American history, founded in the 1790s, was for people involved in the production of...what?

a) Shoes
b) Metal goods (it was a union for blacksmiths)
c) Rope
d) Tobacco products
e) Newspapers