Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: gemini ( )
Date: September 22, 2021 04:06PM

I am fortunate to have extended family members who are skilled in the trades such as plumbing and carpentry and car repair. I've called on them in the past many times and always pay them for their work.

I have one project that has been on the back burner for several years now. It is a repipe of our old house. A family member is a plumber by trade and he has looked at it several times, given me an estimate and told me how long of a job it is. But, after 3 years or so, no movement has been made to do it. After calling last week, again, he seems to be putting me off yet again. I even asked him for a referral if he is too busy which I know he is. I think it is time to get at least a bid from someone else but I'm torn. I've never been in this kind of family situation and I certainly don't want to alienate anyone. Ideas? Recommendations?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Kathleen ( )
Date: September 22, 2021 04:14PM

Yes, hire someone else. Your family member may be relieved.

Posted by: elderolddog ( )
Date: September 22, 2021 04:23PM

I've been told that an upgrade of an old system is the worst because there can be problems that aren't visible until the tear-down begins, and real heartache can occur in terms of just how much additional costing is going to be incurred. A relative might feel (and it'd be self-inflicted) that you'd be upset with him about the added costs and be all grumbling and take it out on him in the future.

As was hinted at above, he might be totally relieved for both reasons: re-piping can be tricky, with hidden costs, and family bonds could be strained.

Posted by: Ynamerom ( )
Date: September 23, 2021 03:38AM

I couldn't have said it better myself, so I didn't.
It's all in that answer right there you have it folks.

Posted by: summer ( )