Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: SusieQ#1 ( )
Date: November 16, 2010 03:17PM

How many of you were a little confused, or bored, or questioned: What do I do now? I had been spending 10 to 20 hours a week of scheduled time, involved in Mormonism, and now that I was not a member, what was I going to do with all that time?

I was the typical active believer: I was a Visiting Teacher, sang in the choir, held two or three "callings" (sometimes more), and attended all the meetings, including the temple about two or more hours away, about once a month. We attended meetings and events as a family also.

In my case, I had been slowly backing off, not attending much, and didn't have any callings as such for a couple of years before I left completely, so I was ecstatic with the extra time.

I was in my late 50's, so I did all kinds of things I didn't have time to do before. I took classes, did volunteer work, started my own small business, started a Red Hat Society in our area, to name a few. I usually have a project I'm working on: sewing, or knitting, or making cards, etc. And, I have time now to socialize with my friends and go to lunch and enjoy their friendship - LDS and non-LDS friends.
It's great! I'm also retired, so that means I have more time to have more FUN! :-)

How do you use that time now? Hobbies, sports, career, volunteer work, etc?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: DNA ( )
Date: November 16, 2010 03:19PM

Posted by: ExMormonRon ( )
Date: November 16, 2010 03:26PM

DNA Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> n/t

Where's the "like" button on this thing? Ditto. ... and tweaking and following my Fantasy Football team.

Posted by: ExMormonRon ( )
Date: November 16, 2010 03:27PM

I took up photography, sporting clays and went back to racing hot rods at the Winston Cup track in Beaumont.

Ron