Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Mormon Observer ( )
Date: September 24, 2010 10:21AM

I got a call from SLC membership recovery. They wanted to know the current address and contact information of my inactive son.

I told him, my son is over twenty one and it is illegal to give out that personal information without his express, legal written permission.

Well, of course, I could take down a church contact phone number I could give to my son, but no, I would not give out my son's address.

By the way, I had a friend who was doing this thankless task, contacting people who do not want to be contacted or trying to find people who have dropped out of sight of the TSCC. Then the man said "I've been doing this for ten years and I've never been told it was illegal."

(I'm thinking it's about time you were told.)
Then I said, "well, in this age of identity theft and working around law offices that deal with it, I've learned you cannot give out addresses unless you have permission to do so."

He was really very nice. What I loved was having been here on the board I knew I had the right to set the boundaries and tell him no, and WHY no, he could not have my son's address. Besides, I would not wish to sic the church on anybody!And I'm guilt free!!!!

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Steven ( )
Date: September 24, 2010 10:29AM

Posted by: Stray Mutt ( )
Date: September 24, 2010 10:35AM

This whole business about going after the "lost" sheep is so transparently about church self-interest. In fact, I laugh at the whole metaphor of a good shepherd guarding his flock. Why does a shepherd have a flock? Just because he like having sheep? No, so he can take their fleece and eat some of them.

"Hi, I'm calling from the church. Could you tell us where your child is so we can fleece him?"

Posted by: CA girl ( )
Date: September 24, 2010 10:42AM