Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: rogermartim ( )
Date: February 29, 2012 03:44PM

Sometimes after reading heavy posts: underwear, separation and divorce, coffee and tea, etc., I thought it would be fun to have anyone list their favorite music that detracts from all this heaviness. I love classical music but anyone can name their favorite in their favorite musical genre.

Mine is Mozart's C-Minor Mass with the absolute ethereal soprano solo in the opening Kyrie.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: schweizerkind ( )
Date: February 29, 2012 03:46PM

Posted by: Itzpapalotl ( )
Date: February 29, 2012 03:52PM

Always been partial to Beethoven's "Moonlight Sonata." I'm a classically trained pianist (i don't play so much these days) so it's difficult for me to choose just one. I love Mozart, Tchiakovsky, Chopin, Handel, Bach, Schubert......Too many to name and love!

Posted by: spaghetti oh ( )
Date: February 29, 2012 04:00PM

Erik Satie

- especially 'embryons desséchés' because it always makes me laugh and 'Gnossienne No. 1, 2, 3' etc...

Posted by: Moira (NotLoggedIn) ( )
Date: February 29, 2012 04:10PM

Tchaikovsky's "Pathetique" Symphony is my all time favorite. But I love all Russian composers.

Posted by: Makurosu ( )
Date: February 29, 2012 04:36PM

I used to annoy the other elders on my mission with Johann Strauss's Viennese Waltzes, which were perfectly within mission rules but made everyone feel they were at a party. That music really raised my spirits when I was having a hard time.

I also love Mozart's Mass in C-minor. There's a part that scares the crap out of me every time though. Mozart, what a trickster.

I love Bach's Brandenburg concertos, particularly #3, 4 and 5. I also love his preludes and fugues for the well-tempered clavier. I used to play some of them when I was a teen.