Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: outofutah ( )
Date: December 01, 2010 01:31PM

I had a chat with a missionary online because I'm very curious about the cross on the front of the proposed Rome temple. Our conversation was interesting on a number of levels. I randomnly chose a name "Diana" as my fake name for the chat.
Before the chat began I was informed the chat had ended; which I chalked up to being a glitch. Then I was surprised to find that my missionaries name just happened to be "Diana." (Coincidence? Maybe but I rather believe that there was a glitch in the system and this may possibly indicate that these missionaries use psuedonymns as well.) I'm no expert here; only speculating.

After getting into the chat and asking some questions I noted that "Diana's" syntax was stilted and it became clear that while I could easily understand her, English was not her first language.

She first responded that she didn't know if there was going to be a cross on this temple and when pressed she clearly stated that Mormons don't use the cross. I continued to question and she and her answers started to vacillate wildly )(and widely) back and forth. First she would say that "no, Mormons don't use the cross"; then she would state that "it would be up to the designer." At one point she said it was not a sin to use the cross yada yada, what's important is that families will be blessed by the temple. I was determined not to allow her to obfuscate and kept pulling her back to the main point. I told her that as a Catholic student at BYU who wore a cross I was repeatedly told by TBMs that I shouldn't wear it and it obviously upset them.

Although I remained calm and truthful but nice she got nasty with me and inquired "what is your point." She ended the chat rather rudely.