Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: benjimanluther ( )
Date: December 02, 2010 11:18PM

This is inspired by the thread about whether exmo pianists and organists felt used when they played for church.

Long story short, I am a professional musician, and a big part of my income is from church work. Based on market rates, I estimate that I donated about $25,000 worth of free organ playing to the church during my college and mission years. Additionally, I spent 18 months as ward chorister and choir director. Where I live now, an equivalent professional position would have paid $15-30,000 during that time. So, the total value of the professional services I donated to the Corporation is somewhere between $40-55,000.

The thing that really ticks me off about this whole thing is that while I lived in Utah, the church was simultaneously screwing me three different ways: by taking my tithing money, utilizing my professional services for free, and undermining my ability to achieve professional success by eliminating demand for paid keyboardists and artificially reducing market rates for music teachers.

Classical music is a very difficult career path that takes many years of hard work before it starts to pay off. In most parts of the country a good keyboardist can make decent money doing church work, but the Mormon Corporation has effectively eliminated that opportunity in Utah by creating a culture in which musicians are expected to perform in church for free. Additionally, families earning what would be a middle-class income are forced by the exorbitant church tax to become cheapskates just to survive. Things like music lessons become luxuries that some families just can't afford unless teachers drastically reduce their prices.