Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: OzDoc ( )
Date: December 03, 2010 05:51AM

In the 1960's & 70's in Australia very few people received tertiary education.To study a health profession usually meant adhering to fairly stringent scholarship requirements unless your parents were loaded.Taking 2 years off for a mission was seen as dropping out & loss of scholarship. Fortunately my Nazi-like TBM mother didn't approve of missions for girls & backed me up each time I refused the mission call the idiotic authorities gave me every 6 months or so.She retained face among her RS cronies by saying that I could serve a health mission. The only other person in our state(stake) at that time who had graduated from a health profession was called on such a mission to Peru(as a dentist).

When I graduated I kept on doing post-basic study as I drifted into the inactivity which sat so well with me.I never heard of anyone else serving such a mission which was actually "service".The mission must have worked for the dentist who had been a normal University student ,party boy, but returned rabid TBM who eventually became a stake president.Did anyone else here serve such a mission or know of them? They were only offered for a short time.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: JoD3:360 ( )
Date: December 03, 2010 07:24AM

Can you imagine the good that could come about if the church put the gospel to real use by serving those who stand in need?

Posted by: EssexExMo ( )
Date: December 03, 2010 08:10AM

Back, when I was a member I recall seeing someone on a news/documentary item about famine relief, wearing a missionary badge.... and, the following sunday, there was a buzz at church about how our wonderful missionaries are doing great works.

But, I never heard of a health mission, and I never heard of anyone being sent to a specific area on the basis of their life/work skills.