Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: think4u ( )
Date: December 29, 2010 03:15PM

On the night before my B-Day, a good MD friend of mine from when I worked as an RN ( he is an anesthesiologist), and his wife, who have also left the church with all their grown children ( so awesome !) drove about 45 min. to take me out for a wonderful B-Day dinner. Another exmormon couple I love dearly, came equally as far from another direction to join us. We laughed and talked for 3 hours, until the restaurant finally was closing, and it was just so wonderful to spend that time with these people I really care about and whom I know really do care about me. It is so nice to feel understood.

Thanksgiving and Christmas this year were very hard for me as I was completely alone, yes, there were people that invited me to join them, but one feels uncomfortable intruding on family time, at least I do.

Then yesterday, Dec. 28, my 60th B- Day was just so very much fun and unforgettable. Colonel Moroni and I spent the entire day and evening together and he did so many things to make it memorable. He had 2 signs made which he planted in my front yard , one which says "Hottie Grandmuffin Lives Here", the other "60 and Proud of It!" He brought pink and purple balloons, a party hat, roses, gifts and a card with the sweetest words, and I really wish I could post here a picture of all this on line for you to see. In the pictures I wore a pink and black sweatshirt he had made for me a while back that says "FREE SPIRIT".