Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: lostgirl ( )
Date: December 30, 2010 02:53AM

I'm a college freshman, currently home in Utah on Christmas break. I'm the 6th of 7 siblings in a what I'd call an uber-LDS family. My father has always been in the Bisphoric. I'm the first of my brothers and sisters *not* to attend BYU. All my older siblings have served missions, temple married, started families in their 20s...

I grew up in a Mormon glass bubble, socializing almost exclusively in my ward/family. I can't say I questioned the church much. When I got into a name brand school on the east coast, my parents agreed to let me not attend BYU. On move in day, I was the only one on my floor who didn't have family along with them. I flew across the country and got set up in an unfamiliar city alone, because my parents and siblings were tied up with church activities or babies. Perhaps it was a blessing in disguise, because they surely would've been uncomfortable with my biracial neighbor whose parents were helping him hang rainbow flags on his door.

Basically, in September I got an ice bath in diversity, intellectualism, and the world outside the Utah Mormon enclave. One thing that really got under my skin was that I felt like compared with my classmates who are all non-Mormon from various states and countries, I had somehow completely missed my intro to adulthood. They'd gained so much knowledge and responsibility from being able to do or at least discuss things Mormons deem taboo. And they seemed so much more well spoken than anyone from my life in Utah. By comparison I felt like an unknowing, stupid child.