Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Raptor Jesus ( )
Date: September 17, 2010 02:02PM

I've been meaning to share some stories on here but have been busy with work. This particular story has been nagging at me for a few weeks now.
During my TBM years, I was very well versed in the Mormon Doctrine and the Mormon version of its history. Being educated on a topic that I felt strongly about was a big deal to me, and the closer I got to my mission, the more and more I studied. Of course, it was all from the "church's" point of view.
Anyway, I was in Germany on my mission, and I was debating religion with a German boy who was about to go into the seminary to become a Catholic priest. We were doing the whole, "my religion is better and therefore 'true' because..." thing when I "crushed" his argument.
I simply said to him, "do you know how I know Catholicism isn't true? Because I know its history."
This shut him down completely. He was defeated, and he knew it. He knew about all the dark and terrible things his church had done over the years, and he couldn't respond because he didn't know about the Mormon church's history.
The irony of course is that, neither did I.
The most ignorant thing I've ever said.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Adult of god ( )
Date: September 17, 2010 03:03PM

For many years growing up the whole mormon thing didn't make sense, but if it's all you know, you go along. I went along until I was out of the house.

I felt utter disgust with the morg when the gay marriage thing arrived in my state years ago. That was a new feeling.

It was when I discovered this board that I began to read the history. I haven't stopped yet.

Date: September 17, 2010 05:38PM