Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: winnip ( )
Date: January 14, 2011 09:40AM

First of all, this is my first time posting on this board - but I have been an eager reader for a few years now. I am never-mo, but had family in SLC that I visit regularly (numerous times a year) starting when I was in 7th grade. For the last 20 years (yes - even starting in 7th grade) I have studied Mormonism and have amassed a large collection of LDS related materials/books/resources.

As a music teacher - I am intrigued by LDS hymns - and their history. When comparing the original LDS hymn compilations with the 1985 green version, there are maybe 25 or so that are the same. Hymns are always a reflection of theology - and as theology changes, what you sing about theology will change too.
One gem from the late 1800's is "O Stop and Tell me, Red Man..."

Verse one:
O stop and tell me Red Man,
Who are ye? why you roam?
And how you get your living?
Have you no God;—no home?

There are seven more verses.

My question to throw out at you, especially older (wiser, of course) folks - what hymns/songs do you remember singing in your childhood that are no longer 'kosher' because of changing doctrine/emphasis?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: DNA ( )
Date: January 14, 2011 09:48AM

I can't really answer your question specifically, but I'll take a stab at it generally.

When I was a kid, there were God and Jesus songs like Called To Serve Him, I Wonder When He Comes Again, etc. along with fluff ones like Give Said The Little Stream etc.

When I taught primary 10-15 years ago, they had been replaced by obey what the bureaucracy tells you, and book of mormon songs like, Follow The Prophet, Arm of Helaman, etc.

Posted by: SusieQ#1 ( )
Date: January 15, 2011 11:04PM

singing many old standard Christian Hymns, some are in the LDS Hymnal, some of the words are changed.