Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: caitieq ( )
Date: January 24, 2011 02:31AM

I've posted before how about some of my experiences in the church, but I posted about some of my bad experiences. Like many people here, the bad moments seem to outweigh the good in my memory, especially when I don't have any belief in the church that so many of these experiences revolved around.

I decided to leave the church almost the day after
I was baptized, but as so many of you know, it was way easier said than done. I have been staying home for the past 7 months instead of going back to school because of several reasons, but the main reason is I am still terrified of my old school and all of the things that went on there. (I am currently applying to other colleges, including some all Women colleges.)

Here's the bind. While I have been at home, all of my friends have been back at college living their lives. My life consists mostly of work, working out and spending time at home. I have no social life. Today I discussed with one of my Mormon friends how I am leaving the church (which she said she'll still love me, but still professed it was a phase) and after the talk it was so hard. I know the church is a damaging place for me to be in, it makes me physically and emotionally irrationally upset, and I know I will leave. The problem is the actual leaving part. While I have not attended church in a few months I still get texts, calls, love bombs etc from the church. The hard part is leaving, because I know I will leave all of those friends behind, and let's be honest, I could use some friends right now. Even just one!