Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: not logged in (usually Duffy) ( )
Date: July 12, 2013 11:19AM

I was a sophomore in college when I joined the church. I mostly was a hormonal convert. My newly converted boyfriend told me he'd never marry outside of the temple and only mormons are allowed in the temple. I asked myself, "How bad could it be?" I was so young and ignorant.

One of the reasons I stayed active so long and served a full-time mission was because I attended a singles ward in VA where a large percentage of the members were converts like me. We had a lot of fun in those days and it wasn't until I really started to "grow up" that I realized what a terrible mistake I had made.

Recently I've been thinking back to that large group of friends and I realize that about 85% of these people had an alcoholic parent. Is that a coincidence? I didn't think about it at the time, but I think that was a huge factor to most of them joining TSCC. Anybody have any thoughts and/or anecdotes about this?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: paintinginthewin ( )
Date: July 12, 2013 11:35AM

yes. my adopted mother (a jackmormon) was an alcoholic, Slept late every morning, slept all afternoon. No preschool food in the morning, climbing cupboards to acquire eatees. No supervision even in preschool. Hiding from abusers in grape vineyard covered dog holes, and if near them if I could run into the chained dogs they'd protect me. Climbable orchard trees provided a haven from violence for me hiding in green leafy canopies. adopted dad hardly ever came home, six hours on a weekend lived away.

when a local mormon branch president's wife began giving me rides I jumped at it. The church classes were the only place someone told me what to do besides 1 year of 4-H.

Posted by: paintinginthewin ( )
Date: July 12, 2013 11:48AM