Exmormon Bios  : RfM
Exmormon's exit stories about how and why they left the church. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: bishopatheist ( )
Date: October 27, 2013 12:24AM

In early September, my wife and I visited with our stake president and told him that we no longer believed that the church was true, and that our family of seven would be leaving the church. Because I would like to control the message of our exit, I would like to share my story. I also do so because so many other de-conversion stories have given me strength and courage.

JOINING THE CHURCH
Twenty years ago, I joined the church when I was a college freshman in Southern California. My high school sweetheart, a beautiful girl from a mormon family, was off to BYU. I was coping with a new peer group in college - not fitting in well with a bunch of partying athletes. I was also struggling to make the jump from high school to college in my sport. Most significantly, I missed my girlfriend. I had always had positive feelings about the church and its members; and even though mormonism was a little odd, I figured that its supernatural claims were just as believable as any other religion's. I took the missionary discussions, had a spiritual experience, told my girlfriend that I wanted to be baptized, and that I wanted to marry her.

BUILDING OUR FAMILY & SERVING IN THE CHURCH