Exmormon Bios  : RfM
Exmormon's exit stories about how and why they left the church. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Dragonmystic ( )
Date: January 30, 2014 06:26PM

First, you should probably understand that I am an Engineer, and I’ve always had a sort of logical mind. “If this, then necessarily that.” When looking back, I also realize I was extremely bright and smart, far more than I ever let myself have credit for (an oppressive church setting tends to do that do you.) In addition, I’ve never been that adept at social maneuvering: after all, when people say something, aren’t you supposed to mean it?

The second thing you need to know is that I grew up smack dab in the middle of Mormonism, the northern end of Utah Valley. As well, I grew up in an upper-middle class neighborhood. All this compounded into an area full of self-righteous people that had enough time to worry about how important they are, but not actually be that important. And so, the “Holier than thou” game ran rampant: “Oh, so much awfulness on television these days!” “I know! I don’t let my children watch hardly anything these days!” “Well, I make sure to restrict them to only when I’m home.” “*tsk* only your children? I gave away our Television ages ago, we’re not having that trash in our home.”
It got ridiculous pretty quickly, and I doubt a lot of the claims that were made. But this sort of environment was rampant in every aspect of the neighborhood, in particular anything to do with the youth. After all, you were judged on how effective a mother/primary teach you were on how well your kids acted (and yes, sadly, it was very much more prevalent with the women. I blame the culture.) This was a problem for me for one simple reason:

I didn’t like to sing.