Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Unindoctrinated ( )
Date: August 23, 2013 08:48PM

I spent 20 years devoting myself to TSCC. I spent a decade as a stake auxiliary leader (and a really involved, devoted one). I studied my brains out for 3 years as gospel doctrine teacher. I taught seminary, and none of it got me any respect, and I can't put any of it on my resume. I even thought I was doing good, but I was devoting myself to an organization that harms others.

What I should have been doing was working outside my home! I could have had something to put on my resume or even a doctorate for all of the work I put in. But, I was told to stay at home with my children and I did as I was told, because I trusted advice from people who weren't trustworthy.

So, now I sit here feeling like I've been had! I thought I was doing the right thing at the time, but what I was teaching in church was pure nonsense, and the help I thought I was giving people was no help at all. And, to boot, my husband and I have paid almost a quarter of a million dollars in tithing over many years. The TSCC took everything from me, and when I had no more to give, it had no use for me. I feel that my time and effort was utterly wasted.

When I did finally go back to work, I watched others younger than I being promoted and recognized for their contributions. I'm now 61 and wishing I had more time to accomplish the things I should have earlier, and I'm watching others my age planning their retirement and wondering why I'm not planning mine.

I want it all back--all of my time, effort and money. I was used by the elite men's club at the top of church leadership to make their phony church look more credible, and I was good at it.